Part of preparing your Training Initiative is selecting and configuring the content. A common question for Account Admins is, "How do we configure our content?" Have you wondered that very same thing? Follow along with this article and learn the important tasks and best tips for configuring content.
SKIP AHEAD TO:
- Access Configure Tools
- Program Information
- Lesson Information
- Completion Certificate
- Program Timing
- Policy Cards
To configure the content available on your account, navigate to the Manage Tools for your account and select Content Library. From here, click the Configure button displayed on the desired Program or microlesson.
From the Program Information area, an Account Admin has a couple of options to configure:
This allows access to edit the Program Title. A custom title can be added to a program. Enter the custom details into the editable field and click the Save button below. The newly saved title will now appear on the Program.
Available in Browse
There is an option to choose if the Program can be viewed under the User's Browse Tab. By selecting Yes for Available in Browse, Users will now see the Program on the Browse Tab in the Learning Environment.
Please note: the Browse Tab is only available for Users access content in the hosted Learning Environment.
The Program Description is available for your review but cannot be edited.
Lesson Information may also be configured when you select Configure on a Lesson or Microlesson found on the Content Library.
This allows access to edit the Lesson Title so you can alter the name of the lesson from the default to something you prefer. Enter the custom title into the editable field and click the Save button below. The newly saved title will now appear on the Lesson.
The Lesson Description is available for your review but cannot be edited.
Available in Browse
There is an option to choose if the Lesson or Microlesson can be viewed under the User's Browse Tab. By selecting Yes for Available in Browse, Users will now see the Lesson on the Browse Tab in the Learning Environment.
Please note: the Browse Tab is only available for Users who access content in the hosted Learning Environment.
Users may receive a Completion Certificate once they have completed the entire Program. By default, Completion Certificates are turned on and available upon completion. However, they can be edited or removed.
Edit Completion Certificate
The default Completion Certificate text and instructions for downloading are editable and may be customized.
Completion Certificates will automatically have the Program name and the User name along with the Date of Completion. There is an additional, editable line which is called Certificate Text. This may be edited, but is limited in character count.
Certificate Download Instructions will appear on the card Users have to access the Completion Certificate. Edit the instructions for downloading.
When done, click the Save button at the bottom of the section.
Remove Completion Certificate
If removing the Completion Certificate is preferred, the Completion Certificate field should be changed from Yes to No. The text does not need to be removed, but can be.
By default, a Program Timer is turned on when it is mandated by a certain state. This can be edited or removed, but we do not recommend reducing time or removing a Program timer for mandated states.
Default Program Timer
If there is a Program Timer by default, a number of minutes will appear in the Program Timer area.
Add Program Timer
A timer can be added to a program by entering the number of minutes for the Program Timer. The number entered will require the learner to spend that number of minutes in the training.
If the content is completed prior to the Program Timer, Users will be shown a message indicating they cannot complete the training because they have not satisfied the time requirement. If a timer is included, the training is considered complete when all content has been viewed and the timer reaches zero minutes.
If a timer is added after a User has completed the content and they completed in less minutes than the Program Timer now requires, they will NOT be considered incomplete and will not need access and complete additional time.
Remove Program Timer
By removing the number in the Program Timer area, this removes the timer from the training all together.
Minimum Time in Seconds for Every Lesson Card
A drop down menu is available for selecting a minimum time in seconds for every lesson card in a program. This value is always defaulted to zero. If an option other than zero is selected and saved, the User can only click next to advance each lesson card after the allotted time has passed.
If a policy is required to be added before assigning the content the cards for policy configuration will populate. Some other details may also be customized, should you choose. It is important to ensure you have included your policy before assigning the content. As a default, a PDF policy placeholder is included and will be presented to Users if the policy is not configured properly.
Policy Card Title
This allows access to edit the Policy Card Title. Enter the custom details into the editable field and click the Save button below. The newly saved title will now appear on the Policy Acknowledgement Card.
Policy Card Description
This allows access to edit the Policy Card Description. Enter the custom details into the editable field and click the Save button below. The newly saved description will now appear on the Policy Acknowledgement Card.
Select Policy Type
Choose between uploading a file or adding the policy as a URL hyperlink. To add a file, choose File from the dropdown menu. Any uploaded file must have no spaces in the name. We suggest using an underscore in place of any space. Please note: The platform is optimized for policies formatted as a PDF.
Alternatively, to add a URL hyperlink, choose Link from the dropdown menu and paste the desired URL.
Select Policy File
Click Choose File to navigate to and select your policy file for upload. Click Save to upload the policy file to this card.
Policy Card Link URL
Add the Policy URL and click Save to direct Users to this URL when viewing the Company Policy.
Preview Policy Card File
To preview an existing policy, click Preview policy card file to view or downloaded to your system. This will allow you to preview the actual policy but not the entire card.
Remove Policy Card
The Policy Card is part of the training. If you would prefer to remove a policy card altogether, please contact your Account Manager for assistance.
Our Company does not have a policy for the card, can we just remove it? Cards may be removed from lessons prior to launch. This will require a customization and is subject to be charged.
Can I remove a lesson from the program using this tool? Lesson order may not be changed, nor lessons removed from the Content Configuration Tool. If you would like to remove chapters it can be done as a customization. Please contact your Account Manager for assistance.
Can I update my logo? Your Company Logo may be added or updated on your Account, not through the Content Configuration Tool. Please submit your logo by email to your Implementation Specialist or directly to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Can I modify the content configuration once it has been assigned? Yes, content configuration may be modified even after training has been assigned.