When creating or editing campaigns, Account Admins can now choose to require approval of any changes in assignments that occur due to changes in group membership.
Who should use this tool?
It is highly recommended that this tool be set to Require Approval if you are performing manual roster uploads. The Manual upload can introduce a number of issues if the data comes across incorrectly or if the column order is incorrect.
Automatic roster feeds using the SFTP sync have much less risk for assignment change issues. Requiring approval requires a manual step which is not ideal when using the automated flow.
How do I activate the Require Approval Tool?
When you create or edit a campaign, you may select one of two approval modes, Automatic or Required Approval.
- Automatic: Any change in membership to the campaign's group(s) will trigger assignment events without any need for the account administrator to review and approve them. Users added to the group(s) receive the assignments, users removed from the group(s) have their assignments set to the closed status.
- Require Approval: Any change in membership to the campaign's group(s) will NOT trigger immediate assignment events, but require an Account Admin to review and approve before the event will take effect.
How do I set up the Campaign Approvals?
The activation of Assignment Changes: Require Approval is very simple! When created, all campaigns are defaulted to Assignment Changes: Automatic. The dropdown next to Assignment Changes affords you the ability to change it from Automatic to Require Approval.
The change is automatically saved and going forward, approval will be required.
Can I turn on the Approval Requirement at any time?
The Assignment Changes Tool is available at all times on all campaigns, but its actions vary depending on the stage of the campaign.
- Draft: When the campaign is first created and the Assignment Changes: Require Approval Tool is activated, you will see a Pending Changes: 0 tag appear. No approvals will be required as long as the campaign is in draft mode.
- Active: You may turn the Require Approval tool on while the campaign is in the active state. Any group changes which would cause changes in assignments would require approval from that point forward.
- Closed: The campaign approval setting cannot be adjusted after the campaign is closed.
How are the changes approved?
Changes are being made to assignments, not group membership. This means that a learner can be a valid member of the group, but won't have the assignment until their assignment is approved, or vice-versa. Approval will be required to issue the corresponding assignment.
How will I know I need to approve changes?
A change count will appear in a pink flag on the Campaign list within the Manage Tools.
From here, you will click into the campaign in order to see the Campaign Configuration. The same pink flag will appear next to Pending Changes.
Can Admins review the changes before they are made?
By clicking the pencil to the right of the flag, you access the Pending Assignment Changes list. This will show you the number of changes by Group.
By clicking the arrow for a particular Group, you will access a detailed screen of the expected changes for that Group. Detail includes the Group Rules, number of expected changes, Name & Email of learners with pending assignment changes, the fields with updates driving the changes and what the change actually is (Add vs. Remove).
How do I approve or reject the assignment changes?
Account Admins can only approve the entire list of Pending Assignment Changes, you cannot individually approve changes individually by User or by Group. Here are a few methods for approval and review:
Approve All Changes
If you are satisfied with the Pending Assignment Changes list, you may approve all changes in bulk. Click the Approve all assignment changes button at the bottom of the Pending Assignment Changes list.
This will bring up the Approve Pending Assignment Changes? screen, which is a secondary approval screen that simply lists the changes by Groups and summarizes the total Number of Changes per group. From here, you may choose Yes, approve assignments in order to approve all assignments in the list. You may also select No, I changed my mind if you want another opportunity to review and/or correct things.
Reject All Changes
Is the entire list of Pending Assignment Changes incorrect? There is no way to "reject all". Corrections must be made to the User Roster to ensure Users are being placed in groups accurately. If all of the changes look incorrect, there was likely an issue with a recent upload. Once the roster is corrected (either the data or the column order) and uploaded once again, the list of Pending Assignment Changes will update accordingly.
Approve Some Changes & Reject Some Changes
If some Pending Assignment Changes look correct and some appear incorrect, you will need to right the wrong ones first. Because only approvals can be made, it is important to correct data to remove the incorrect Pending Assignment Changes. Once the Pending Assignment Changes list has been updated to include only the ones you intended, you may follow the steps to Approval All Changes.
What happens if a User had a pending change approval but changes groups before the approval takes place?
If a group membership change is reversed before the assignment change is approved, the add/remove action is deleted. For example, if a learner is removed from a group and queued to have their assignment removed, but are added back to the group before the assignment change is approved, they are removed from the changes list and their assignments are un-altered.