Although every Account Admin has unique reporting needs, there are common tasks and tips which will help your training to run smoothly. One of the most pressing questions for Account Admins is, "How do we monitor the campaigns?" Have you wondered that very same thing? Follow along with this article and learn more about campaigns, how to make assignments and other important tasks and tips.
SKIP AHEAD TO:
- How do we monitor Training Progress?
- What changes can we make to Active Campaigns?
- Can changes be make to Groups?
- How do we add or edit notifications?
Several types of reports are available for you to see and evaluate the progress of Campaigns and other content.
How do I obtain a High-Level Overview of the Campaigns?
A couple of options are available to you for high-level reporting:
- The Campaign Calendar (found on both the Account Dashboard and the Campaign tool) displays a quarterly view of campaigns. For scheduled campaigns, you will see a completion percentage. For open campaigns, you will see the number of Users that are Past Due their individual deadline.
- The first graph in the Insights Report shows the Percentage of Campaign Completion By Item, which is a breakdown of lesson completion.
- The Insights Report also contains the breakdown of Percentage in Compliance, detailing the statuses with Not Started, Completed or Started, but not yet complete).
Can I download a completion report for our records?
The completion reports can be downloaded to a CSV file. Additional fields may be added to the report for filtering and sorting purposes prior to exporting. There are a few options for these types of reports:
- The Completion Report by Campaign shows the completion status for all users within a particular campaign. Detailed statuses include percentage complete.
- The Content Completion Report gives the completion status for all users who took a particular content item, by Program or by Microlesson. This report includes anyone who reviewed content outside of a campaign (for example, via Browse or from a shared URL).
Do I have access to more detailed records by User?
- Viewable on every User Profile, the User Lesson Report gives you a breakdown of completion by lesson as well as time spent in a program.
- The User Activity Report is available from the User Profile and contains a line by line list of assignments, lesson starts, cards viewed, interactions answered and lessons completed.
What else can we report on?
You do have access to see some additional details to better understand Users' interests and actions:
- From the Insights report you can see both the top 5 Most Shared items and the top 5 Most Saved items. These give you an idea of what is resonating with Users in the trainings they are taking.
We understand that there are moments when campaigns need to be stopped or changed. We have some Campaign Actions that should help with examples like these:
Campaigns may be Withdrawn
- A campaign was deployed and everything is incorrect! Campaigns that are simply "all wrong" can be Withdrawn which in effect, reverses everything.
- The training year has ended and Users need a fresh assignment to ensure they are in compliance. In an effort to stop and remove assignments so that new ones may be issued, you may Withdraw the campaign. This would remove assignments and stop notifications from Withdrawn campaign. When a new campaign is issued, they will receive access once again to the content.
Campaigns may be Closed
- Laws were changed and Users need a new version of content. Campaigns can be Closed so that no new assignments are made. Changing this over will require the use of a tag to exclude those that already completed the assignment & include users in the new group that need the newer assignment.
- Organization made a decision to use different training duration. Campaign may be closed so that no new assignments are made. A new campaign may be set up with the alternate duration for future assignments. This may require a group to be "closed" and a new one started (as is the case when there are two similar groups separated by a Hire Date).
Dynamic groups change constantly when Users qualify and are added or disqualify and are removed. There are also times that Account Admins need to make changes to the rules themselves. Any changes to rules in dynamic groups that are related to active campaigns will immediately affect assignments.
Can I add dynamic group rules?
Dynamic rules may be added to groups even when the connected campaign is in an active state. Some examples of when you may need to do this include:
- Add a Date rule to "close" the group. For example, you can add a Hired Before Date so that a group is limited to only those hired after a certain date.
- Add an exclusion rule. When you need to remove individuals from training, you can add an Email IS NOT rule to exclude individuals by email address.
Can I edit existing group rules?
Dynamic rules may be edited in groups even when the connected campaign is in an active state. Because the rules drive assignments, take caution when making edits to active rules. Some examples of when you may need to do this include:
- Add another tag to a location field. For example, you may have "CA" listed in the rules, but just uploaded a batch of New Hires with "California" listed in US State Code. You could either correct the CSV and re-upload or you could update the group rules to include the "California" tag.
- Add another email address to an exclusion rule. In the case you have an Email IS NOT rule, you could continue to add additional email addresses as needed.
Can I delete existing group rules?
Dynamic rules may be deleted from groups even when the connected campaign is in an active state. Because the rules drive assignments, take caution when making edits to active rules. Some examples of when you may need to do this include:
- Remove an exclusion rule. In the case you have an Email IS NOT rule and now wish for all those listed in the rule to be assigned training, you could delete the rule completely.
- Duplicate rules. If you have two rules with the same information, it is best to delete one of them.
At times there is a need, once a campaign is already active to make changes to the Notifications or schedule. We encourage you to plan your Communication Strategy as completely as possible prior to launch and then use these tips to make adjustments post-launch.
Can Notifications be added after the Campaign is deployed?
Notifications can be added to already launched campaigns, but keep in mind:
- Adding an email which has a timeframe that is in the past will result in that email being sent to all planned recipients once the notification is saved.
- With Open Campaigns, it is significantly harder to know where each individual is in the notification schedule. Take caution when adding a number of emails at one time because Users may receive all emails if all those added are considered "in the past".
- If a completion notification is added to a campaign that is already in-progress, the notification will NOT be sent to users who completed the campaign before the notification was added. It will ONLY be sent to users who complete the campaign after the notification has been added.
Can Notifications be edited after the Campaign is deployed?
While Notifications can be edited after a campaign is deployed, there are a few cautions to think about.
- Editing an email in a scheduled campaign whose send date is already past will result in that email being sent to all planned recipients once the edited notification is saved.
- Editing an email in an open campaign will result in the new text being sent to all planned recipients going forward but would not be sent to Users who had already received the notification.
Can Notifications be deleted after the Campaign is deployed?
- If a notification is deleted from the campaign, it will remove any scheduled occurrence of it.
- If a completion notification is deleted from a campaign, it will NOT be sent to users who complete the campaign after the deletion of the notification.